My World Book Night giving…

This year I was lucky enough again to be selected as a World Book Night giver. I was giving away copies of Mark Billingham‘s excellent crime debut debut crime novel ‘Sleepyhead’.

The day started by giving a copy to one of the ladies in the local Sure Start Centre for all the sterling work she does with the children at my son’s nursery. Then three copies to the local Cafe Nero, to grateful and lapsed readers. If I wasn’t working today I;d have set up camp there to give away my remaining copies.

Then a whole load to various work colleagues who either don’t read much or at all plus a couple of avid readers who have never sampled the delights of Mark Billingham’s books.

Finally my international give away as in the evening I was lucky enough to be able to interview Arjen Lucassen for Get Ready To Rock! A copy of ‘Sleepyhead’ will be winging it was over to Holland 🙂

Another brilliant day handing out books by an author you enjoy and for me it is a real confidence booster as I am very shy. But armed with a good book I am happy to talk to people I wouldn’t normally and share my love of books. If you only read one book this year make it one of the World Book Night ones as you won’t be disappointed.

PS I still have a copy to send to one lucky person who comments on either this post or the other WBN post. Go on don’t be shy!

About The Rock 'N' Roll Oatcake

A keen reader and lover of music plus of course my lifelong support of the mighty Potters, Stoke City! Enjoy running and the odd bit of fundraising.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My World Book Night giving…

  1. Ellie Millard says:

    You are many things but ‘shy’ is not a word that springs to mind when I think of you. What about thoughtful, caring, helpful, brill dad …. I am sure others will come up with more fitting descriptions. Keep up the good work. Ellie x

  2. * Blushes * That is very kind thank you. I just love my family, books, music, fundraising & helping people – sounds corny but its true. I am shy but once I get to know people I will ramble on quite merrily,,,

Leave a Reply

