Elmbridge 10K completed

The sun was out and it was race day! After a delay in getting the venue due to heavy traffic from a local car boot the race was delayed until 9:30 am. Luckily it gave me time to warm-up, resplendent in my Mr Men running vest. Over 700 runners registered (the ‘Race Full’ signs were up), although strangely only 500 odd finished. It was very warm and tempers did flare behind me with runners berating the car boot traffic and vice versa. The race itself was a nice flat course although the Thames towpath part may have been picturesque but the stony path played merry hell on my feet. I didn’t manage to break the hour mark but did finish in 1 hr 5 mins – two minutes quicker than my Staines time back in May (making it my fastest 10K since 1999). There was a very nice bronze medal with an Olympic theme, which was last seen disappearing with my son and his toy box…

I have raised £457 for Children with Cancer UK. Any help you can give in plugging my fundraising page would be much appreciated:

www.justgiving.com/stokie2012

BIG thanks to:
My family for their encouragement and support
Matt Curtis – online trainer and the man who inspired me to try & beat an hour
Emma Solomons for suggesting this race
Those kind people who spread the word and sponsored me 🙂

Now what 10K can I line-up for September time…

About The Rock 'N' Roll Oatcake

A keen reader and lover of music plus of course my lifelong support of the mighty Potters, Stoke City! Enjoy running and the odd bit of fundraising.
This entry was posted in Children with Cancer UK, Elmbridge 10K, News & Updates, Running, Start page and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

