Great South Run – completed!

Knackered but finished 🙂 First time I have run further than 10K since 1999. Great day and atmosphere as the people of Pompey made you feel very welcome – even in my Stoke top and scarf. I did get two ‘Come on Stoke!’ on the way round the course. Lovely course running around the historic naval dockyards/HMS Victory and ending up running by the Southsea seafront. The jelly babies counter at nine miles provided a welcome boost  as well. Well organised and run, highly recommended if you fancy a nice flat race.

My finishing time was under two hours – yippee! 1hr 59m 12 secs 15,158th (race field just over 24,000)
http://www.greatrun.org/Results/default.aspx?r=273&bib=20203

Thanks to my lovely kids for their support and musical selections  (my daughter loaded my IPod with delights such as You Me At Six, Green Day, Avenged Sevenfold & Fearless Vampire Killers and I sneaked on some Jimi Jamison, Chris Singleton & Dev Townsend!).

Big thanks to my family, friends, work colleagues, Facebook pals, the bands and authors who kindly donated signed items to auction and all those that have sponsored me, spread the word or liked a Facebook post. I am truly humbled, thanks again.
Now what race next folks 😉
Jason

PS Donations still welcome – raising funds for Children with Cancer UK:
http://www.justgiving.com/stokie2012

About The Rock 'N' Roll Oatcake

A keen reader and lover of music plus of course my lifelong support of the mighty Potters, Stoke City! Enjoy running and the odd bit of fundraising.
This entry was posted in Charity auctions, Children with Cancer UK, Great South Run, News & Updates, Running, Start page and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

