Dorney Dash completed…in under an hour :)

Despite my best attempts to injure myself the night before the race by dropping a fridge magnet on one of my toes, I lined up at the start of the Dorney Dash 10K on a very hot morning. The course is a lap and a half of the impressive Dorney boating lake, used in the 2012 Olympics and owned by Eton College.

It is a flat course but on a sunny day like the race day there is little shade and it was tough going. Despite this (and I think spurred on by the fact I was keen to be reunited with my children and shade at the finish line) I beat the one hour mark with a chip time of 59 minutes 40m seconds, the first time in over ten years!

I would highly recommend this as a 10K race for either a PB or for a first time/beginner as it is flat, lovely surroundings and extremely well organised.

I ran this race for the Centrepoint charity and next up is the Ealing half marathon when I will be running for Macmillan Cancer Support

About The Rock 'N' Roll Oatcake

A keen reader and lover of music plus of course my lifelong support of the mighty Potters, Stoke City! Enjoy running and the odd bit of fundraising.
This entry was posted in Centrepoint, Ealing Half Marathon, Macmillan Cancer Support, News & Updates, Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

